The Faculty Team

The Faculty team are responsible for the general management of the Faculty of Pain Medicine. The members of the team are listed below along with their individual areas of work and contact details.

For general pain medicine enquiries please contact us on: 020 7092 1682 or email

Should you wish to email a team member with a specific query please note that all Faculty email addresses end

Daniel Waeland | Head of the Faculty
Daniel joined the Faculty in 2009.  He has a dual role, with 40% of his time dedicated to the FPM and 60% dedicated to his role as Head of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine.
From 2006 to 2009, Daniel worked with the Intercollegiate Joint Committee on Surgical Training on training and quality, and from 2002 to 2006, he worked for the London Deanery in a variety of roles which included work on assessment and recruitment.
FPM Areas of work:
  • Executive / Board and their related work (strategy, policy, projects, finance, media)
Anna Ripley | Faculties Manager (currently on maternity leave)

Anna joined the department in 2011 after previously working within Fitness to Practise for the General Osteopathic Council and was appointed as the Manager for both the FPM (15%) and the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (85%) in June 2015.


FPM Areas of work:

  • Operational matters (projects and general processes)
  • Management of training (curriculum, assessment)



Emmy Kato-Clarke | FPM Manager
Emmy joined the department in 2017 after previously working for Health Education England.

FPM Areas of work

  • Board and its related work (elections, projects, consultations)
  • Professional Standards Committee and its related work (publications, guidelines, standards, Opioids Aware, revalidation)
  • Operational matters (projects and general processes)


Laura Owen | FPM Coordinator

Laura joined the Faculty department in 2015 after previously working within the RCoA Training department.

FPM Areas of work

  • Member communications (Transmitter, website, Twitter)
  • Events (Annual Meeting, study days, Pain in Secure Environments)
  • e-PAIN


Claire Driver | FPM Administrator
Claire joined the department in 2017 after previously working for the National Probation Service.
FPM Areas of work:
  • Membership
  • Training and Assessment Committee and its related work (Regional Advisors, trainers and trainees, quality of training, workforce, examination queries and Preparation Course)
  • Essential Pain Management
  • Buddying/Mentoring scheme

As a Faculty of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, a number of our areas of work are shared or owned with departments of the College:

Appointment Advisory Committees:
Examination (Queries relating to applications, dates or appeals):
Revalidation & CPD: