Dates, Fees and Applications - Primary MCQ

Online Application and payment is now available. Applicants can still submit paper applications by post if they wish.

Examination Fees: Pay by PayPal on completion of the on-line application process.  If submitting a paper application by post fees are to be paid by cheque drawn on a UK clearing bank, sterling draft or postal order. Cheques should be made payable to: 'The Royal College of Anaesthetists'.

Primary MCQ Examinations Calendar; August 2019 to July 2020
Application opening date
Monday, 10 June 2019
Monday, 2 September 2019
Monday, 28 October 2019
Application closing date
Thursday, 25 July 2019
Thursday, 10 October 2019
Thursday, 9 January 2020
Examination date
Tuesday, 3 September 2019
Tuesday, 19 November 2019
Tuesday, 3 March 2020
Examination fees
£330
£330
£330

 

Primary MCQ Examinations Calendar; August 2020 to July 2021
Application opening date
Monday, 22 June 2020
Monday, 31 August 2020
Monday, 19 October 2020
Application closing date
Thursday, 23 July 2020
Thursday, 15 October 2020
Thursday, 7 January 2021
Examination date
Tuesday, 1 September 2020
Tuesday, 17 November 2020
Tuesday, 23 February 2021
Examination fees
TBC
TBC
TBC

Primary MCQ Application Form

The Application form is available on the link at the top of the page.  Also see downloads.

Completing your form:

  • Read the information sheet on the back of the form.
  • Complete all sections, then check through again.
  • Sign and date the form.
  • Remember you are signing to say that your College Tutor or Senior Consultant supports your application for this exam.
  • Enclose any competency certificates required (not applicable to Primary MCQ). 
  • E-mail your application to exams@rcoa.ac.uk along with any suppporting documents
  • We wil contact you seperately to make payment via a link in an e-mail from our finance department

The Exams Directorate will send you an email to confirm receipt of your form.  If you have not received one within seven days of dispatch or less, if the closing date is near, then you are advised to contact the exams team. The College cannot be held responsible for non-delivery or delays in the postal system.

Requests for special consideration of a disability must be made on application.  The standard rules and provisions for Dyslexia are set out at Appendix 3 of the Examination Regulations.

Primary FRCA MCQ Links
Primary MCQ Homepage
Exam Structure
Results and Statistics
FAQs